Maasin City Jail Bags Red Orchid Hall of Famer Award

  • Published in News
  • Hits: 1529
  • Print , Email
Red Orchid Award

Way back 2012, Smoke free initiative of this jail unit was started upon attending the meeting with TASK FORCE TOBACCO FREE CITY.

It was in December 2012, that then Hon. Maloney Samaco upon receiving the ROA - Hall of Fame visited this jail unit and urged the residents to heed the calling od this advocacy.

On March 2013, JO1 Louis Miguel C Abadiez, RN reported to this office and was designated as Jail Nurse and further designated as Smoking Cessation Counselor upon completion of the required seminar from DOH.

Plans and programs to implement were taken to personnel first during the conduct of Jail Inspection and Education.

Came 2013, 2014 policies were in placed. Meeting with residents on the benefits and causes of smoking were done. Information drive too was conducted to personnel and visitors.

Religous physical conditioning were conducted to all residents at designated sunning area to help cope with withdrawal sydrome.

On 10th day of December 2014, it was the first Red Orchid Award received by this jail unit during the DOH Awarding of Health Achiever 2013 at Patio Victoria, Tacloban City headed by J/ SINSP ENRICO L FEVIDAL, Jail Warden.

The second time Red Orchid Award received by this jail unit was on 7th day of December 2015 headed by J/SINSP JENNIFER JOYCE ABAR.

And third time Red Orchid Award received by this jail unit was on 9th day of November 2017 for having garnered a total score of 95% based on the DOH set criteria for implementing a 100% Tobacco Free Environment and following the World Health Organization "MPOWER" framework headed by J/CINSP ARLENE T BARRACA.

Also, Plaque of Recognition received by this unit as Hall of Famer in Red Orchid Award given by Christopherson M. Yap, Governor, Province of Southern Leyte

On November 22, 2017, Maasin City Jail awarded by the Department Of Health as a Red Orchid Hall of Famer Awardee for having won the Red Orchid Award for three (3) consecutive years base on the DOH's set criteria for implementing 100% Tobacco-Free Environment and following the WHO "MPOWER" Framework.

Photo: DOH Regional 8 Officials with BJMP8 Regional Director JSSUPT FELIXBERTO J JAGORIN (5th from left), JO1 Louis Miguel C Abadiez and SINSP ENRICO L FEVIDAL (6th & 7th from left respectively)